Event Ambassador

Simran Kaur Sethi

My name is Simran Kaur Sethi and I am from New Delhi, India. I am 22 years old and aspire to be a professional sports psychologist/sports administrator. I just graduated in May of 2018 with Bachelors degree. I majored in Psychology and minored in Health and Exercise Science at the University of Oklahoma in the United States. I was a student athlete and played tennis for the university varsity team. I was an All Big 12 Academic Scholar and a Scholar Student Athlete throughout my 4 years of being a collegiate athlete. I have also been on the Arts and Sciences school’s dean’s list for the 4 years. Currently, I am doing my Masters in ‘Higher Ed and Athletic Administration’ from the University of Oklahoma itself. I further plan to do my PhD in Sports
Psychology.


Past Achievements

I am a professional tennis player and represented India at the Junior Fed Cup in Australia. I have also represented India at the Youth Asian games in China and got a bronze medal in the mixed doubles category. I was ranked as high as 1 in the country for a few years in the age groups of under 14, 16 and 18’s. I have won multiple national championships in singles and doubles.

Along with winning many international tournaments in singles and doubles, I represented India at the junior Roland Garros and Wimbledon in 2013 and the Australian Open in 2014. My highest international ranking was 101.


Personal Interest and Hobbies and Passion

Since I was a kid, I have always loved to travel, visit new places and eat different kinds of food. I am a foodie and nature lover at heart. Be it the best national parks or the best reefs in the world, playing tennis has given me the privilege to see it all. No matter where I go, I thoroughly enjoy camping, hiking, scuba diving and snorkeling every time I get an opportunity to do so. I also enjoy watching and playing different sports. Playing sports myself and watching others play it has taught me some of the biggest lessons and leanings of my life.